My Top 10 Movie Lists (the last 5)

Hello world, glad today I have another chance to write more. Not about traveling (again, this time) but I would like to finish my top 10 favourite movies I have been watching over and over. I have shared my first 5, few months ago, and now, please enjoy the last 5. Might you can consider to watch one or two for your next weekend?

5. The Sound of Music

It was included in my weekend movie list. A great old movie all the time (I think), listed #18 on IMDb Top 100 Greatest Movie.  The story of a woman leaves an Austrian convent to become a governess to the children of a Naval officer widower. (as cited from IMDb official site)

The Sound of Music movie poster (1965)

The Sound of Music (1965) movie poster

Nice musics and songs, Do-Re-Mi, perhaps a lot of people still remember the beauty of this movie. Finding its DVD felt like heaven to me on last weekend.

6. The Terminal

Starring Tom Hanks and directed by the famous Stephen Spielberg became one of my top list. Was my brother’s idea asked me to watch it. Yes, he is a big fans of Tom Hanks from his previous movie, Forrest Gump. Perhaps you still remember?

The Terminal (2004) movie poster

The Terminal (2004) movie poster

The story is about an eastern immigrant finds himself stranded in JFK airport, and must take up temporary residence there. (as cited from IMDb official site) What do we learn? A lots I might say. It is about principle of life, way to look something in every different views and be braved to walk to something you believed.

7. The Queen

Shortly, The Queen is a 2006 British drama film that depicts the aftermath of the death of Diana, Princess of Wales, on 31 August 1997. The film was directed by Stephen Frears, written by Peter Morgan, and starred Helen Mirren in the title role of Queen Elizabeth II. The Royal Family regards Diana’s death as a private affair and thus not to be treated as an official Royal death.(source: Wikipedia)

Why do I like this drama? First, because I am a sort of interested in Royal Family of Great Britain. Second, once I have read (somewhere) that Queen Elizabeth II was very hard to her self as well as to the rest of the royal family members due to her promised. She took the throne from his father on her teens and promised will keep the throne until she died. Last, I love the accent!

queen

The Queen (2006) movie poster

In one side, I saw her as a cruelly hard mother and mother in-law, but the other side, I believe she feels lonely and wishes there is someone to cry on. Well, a queen is a human too in many ways.

8. Beautiful Mind

A Beautiful Mind is a 2001 American biographical drama film based on the life of John Nash, a Nobel Laureate in Economics (as cited from IMDb official site) was my task to complete my final test when I was in Faculty of Letters taking English Literature as my major of study. We were studying prose that time of biography of Mahatma Gandhi and John Nash.

It was hard to understand the storyline at first, I needed other two times before I can wrote anything about John Nash. Heavy for me but in the end of the day, I found how interesting human brain’s worked.

A Beautiful Mind (2001) movie poster

A Beautiful Mind (2001) movie poster

9. The King’s Speech

The story of King George VI of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, his impromptu ascension to the throne and the speech therapist who helped the unsure monarch become worthy of it. (as cited from IMDb official site) Directed by Tom Hooper in 2010.

The King's Speech Movie Poster (2010)

The King’s Speech (2010) movie poster

Four years ago, I had been given a test on public speaking as I took a short course on. The answer can be found by watching this movie. First impression, it would be a boring long movie full of dialogue, no heavy message to deliver. But then, after watching this movie, I found out that (mostly) world great people can be great since they do a never ending practice. From I AM NOT USED TO become I AM USED TO.

I struggled to take my worries down. I was shaking too much when I have to stand up in-front of people. It felt like my heart jumped out of my body. Silly,… But glad to know then after I knew, the Great King George VI also felt the same. 🙂

10. The Lake House

Longing to a weird love story? Well, perhaps it was not a very popular movie starring Keanu Reeves and Sandra Bullock. However, again, it was my mid-test task in prose. I did not know how I got this to review, and eventually I came up to like it. That’s why it is on my top ten. (as cited from IMDb official site)

The Lake House is a 2006 American romantic drama directed by Alejandro Agresti and starring Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock and Christopher Plummer. It was written by David Auburn. The film is a remake of the South Korean motion picture Il Mare.

The Lake House (2006) movie poster

The Lake House (2006) movie poster

Got an insight to watch for this up coming weekend? Still have days to decide.

Good afternoon and wish you have a pleasant day ahead!

xox

Leave a Reply

